Feeling Bloggy

It’s been nearly three weeks since I last did a blog post. The truth is I just haven’t been feeling bloggy. It’s not that nothing has happened or that I’ve run out of ideas. It’s just that in the limited time I have to myself I haven’t felt enthused about writing. Well today I’m feeling much more bloggy so I thought I would take a few minutes to do a summary of what has been going on in mine and Penny’s lives.

Sleep is the word

Penny’s night-time sleep patterns had made great progress from that terrible 4-6 month period. But since I last wrote about her sleep (and tentatively hoped that her sleeping through the night the night before was a sign of things to come) she has slept through more nights than not. Some nights she still wakes up hungry in the night or needs a quick shh and cuddle, but it is now no longer a surprise to wake up at 7 in the morning having not had to get up once in the night. I might hear the odd little cry at one or two points but they stop as quickly as they started. Well done Penny!

Catching up with photos

WE have finally got around to getting some of our professional photos of Penny up on the wall. I was lucky enough to win a canvas from Canvas Designs which arrived the other day. I am so pleased with the result. I also got a discount code to share so if you want I photo canvas I can really recommend the quality. Go to www.canvasdesign.co.uk and quote BLOG15 to get 15% off your order.

Photos of Penny now surround our Dali print on the lounge wall.

Photos of Penny now surround our Dali print on the lounge wall.

Weight loss progress

For the past three weeks I have been on a diet. I have allowed myself the odd treat to keep me sane (especially around my birthday) but have found two diets that I like and I have hybridised them to put together a plan that works for me. If you know your diets it’s a combination of the ‘Clean’ detox and the Paleo diet. In a nutshell I am eating lots of protein and veg and vastly reduced carbs. I’m finding it really easy to follow as I don’t have to count calories or weigh anything out and it plays to my appetite as I am always hungriest at lunchtime. So far the scales and my belt buckle are being very kind!

Home-made baby food

I had always intended to make my own baby food, but despite being a relatively good cook I didn’t really have the confidence to know where to start with making food for Penny. In the end I picked up a couple of second hand books from Amazon and have found Annabel Karmel’s Baby and Toddler Meal Planner particularly helpful. After trying out a few of her recipes I now have much more confidence to make up things myself as well and have started cooking extra vegetables to whirr up and batch cooking in the evenings once Penny is asleep. The best bit is that Penny is actually eating it. Her appetite does vary greatly from meal to meal and day to day, but she has not completely turned her nose up once at anything I have cooked her. I think it tastes better too. I always sample the food I give her and the savoury jars always taste of the cornstarch and other thickeners they cram in. The food I make Penny just tastes of yummy food. I have to stop myself from having a second taste, and a third!

Trust me, it tasted better than it looked!

Trust me, it tasted better than it looked!

Another year older

A week ago I turned the grand old age of 37. It doesn’t sound much different to 36 so the number doesn’t bother me and I had a lovely long bank holiday birthday weekend. I went out for a nice meal with husband dearest to celebrate as I normally do, but this year I wanted to do something a bit special just for me. And so it was that I found myself baby free and with a nice non-baby-vomity outfit on at Inglewood Manor enjoying champagne afternoon tea with three of my mummy friends (also baby free and in nice non-baby-vomity outfits). The place was lovely (really posh) and the spread was very tasty. We all agreed that this baby-free, grown up thing was rather good fun and we should find several excuses to do it again!

Blend it like Beckham

Very housewifey I know, but my best birthday present (which I did choose myself) was a new blender. I have been making lots of smoothies / shakes on my diet and the blender on my old food processor is ominously cracked (not to mention the amount of space a full-size food processor takes up on the work surface in a small kitchen). As much as one can enthuse about a kitchen appliance, I adore my new blender. It blends my smoothies easily and comes apart for easy cleaning. It also has a mini blender attachment which I have used for making small amounts of seed butter and baby food. Yay for me being all domestic in my middle-age!

Changing day by day

Penny is now really active during the day and easily bored. I have had to start rotating her toys to keep her attention and find new ways to entertain her. If all else fails I have found that going out somewhere with her works (she loves the grouse chasing each other round at our local garden centre). She is also moving around. She can’t crawl yet but she can move backwards on her hands and knees and shift around the lounge rug on her bottom and hands. We have suddenly realised how vulnerable husband dearest’s precious speakers are (why oh why did he get rid of the grids from the front?) and know it won’t be long before she discovers the buttons and knobs on the cd player and amp do something. As much as all this is hard work, she really is at a wonderful stage and whenever she laughs it starts me laughing too. Motherhood is great.

Fascinated by the sharks at Blue Planet Aquarium.

Fascinated by the sharks at Blue Planet Aquarium.

About Laura Cooper

I am a mid-thirties first time mum of one. Formerly a secondary school teacher, serial planner and know-it-all . I have learnt that nothing about being a mum is predictable and am now a strong advocate of making it up as you go along.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feeling Bloggy

  1. Lovely update 🙂 It’s nice to hear how you are getting on.

    Do you need to update your ‘about’ bit though? 37 probably counts as late rather than mid 30s 😛 (she says, watching the weeks til she turns 38 whizzing by. It only seems like yesterday we were 13 and laying on the field talking about NKOTB).

  2. Love the shark watching..!

Leave a Reply

