Photo a Day July: Day 1 – Snot

A few years ago we went on holiday to Mull. We loved the scenery, we loved the wildlife, we took lots of photos with our point and click camera, and we were disappointed with the end results. As a consequence we invested in a good quality DSLR, a Nikon D80 with 18-55 and 55-200 lenses. I’m ashamed to say I do little more with it than I did with our previous camera and have no idea what most of the settings do.

I have therefore set myself the task of learning how to use the thing properly and take lots more photos on it rather than on my mobile phone. There are lots of photo a day challenges online, but rather than follow a set list of themes I have decided to post a photo each day that says something about my day and encourages me to try out new techniques.

Day 1 – Snot

Penny teething

It’s been a day of cuddles and Calpol in the Cooper household. Penny is teething. She has been on and off since she was three months old but still no teeth have emerged. For the last two days she has had all the classic symptoms; sore gums, dribbling, rosy cheeks, poor appetite, nappy explosions, tears, clingyness waking up lots at night and snot – lots of it! I have spared readers the worst of it as I prefer this photo.

I took this photo using the 55-200 lens to get a narrow depth of field. Lots of my attempts ended up out of focus as she moved and quite a few more caught her blinking as the flash must have gone off marginally before the shutter. I need to find out how to get round these problems as a like the blurred background effect.

About Laura Cooper

I am a mid-thirties first time mum of one. Formerly a secondary school teacher, serial planner and know-it-all . I have learnt that nothing about being a mum is predictable and am now a strong advocate of making it up as you go along.
This entry was posted in Photo a day, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

