Rest In Peace Robin Williams

I woke up the sad news that Robin Williams had died from apparent suicide. Deaths of celebrities make the news on a fairly regular basis. Millions more, unknown except to their friends and families are mourned evey day. Yet I found myself surprisingly moved by the news. I found him entertaining, yes, in fact Disney’s Aladdin in one of my favourite films and he steals the show in it. But I wouldn’t describe myself as a fan. I knew little, if anything, about him as a person and I, like I’m sure many, had no idea he suffered from depression. I think this is what got me this morning. Having suffered from depression myself, I am familiar with the feeling of complete helplessnes and lack of ability to function as a human being. I am fortunate enough that I have never seriously contemplated suicide, but I know that feeling is common among fellow sufferers. It seems ironic that someone who made so many people smile, apparently felt like that. I am not religious these days. But I hope, if there is some consciousness somewhere out there that is/was Robin Williams, that he is at peace.

About Laura Cooper

I am a mid-thirties first time mum of one. Formerly a secondary school teacher, serial planner and know-it-all . I have learnt that nothing about being a mum is predictable and am now a strong advocate of making it up as you go along.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

