Blogapathy

It’s been quite a while since I wrote anything here. For some time I wasn’t sure if I would again or whether to scrap the whole thing. I started this blog with lots to say and big ambitions. I have come across loads of mummy blogs and knew I could write just as well. I wanted to share my overwhelming enthusiasm for new mumhood with the world and stand on my soapbox about a good few things too. I confess I also had dreams of it taking off. I pictured myself as a successful career blogger with posts that went viral, spin off e-books, companies flooding me with fab things to review, minor celebrity status and the BBC asking me to be in the next series of Strictly Come Dancing! Ok, so I like to fantasize! After the initial enthusiasm, self doubt set in. I started wondering if anybody was actually interested at all and ever would be. I delighted when I looked at my stats (for the third time that day) and saw my posts had been viewed. But knew really that it was just friends and family, probably to be polite. Was my blog the equivalent of forcing people to sit through 5 rolls of holiday snaps (“this is me on the beach, this is a view from the hotel, this is another view from the hotel, this is a nice couple we met over a sangria and it turns out they used to live just down the road”)?
So I stopped writing. I couldn’t think of what to write about, and when I did think of something I doubted anybody was interested. And time has ticked on.
But I`m feeling the urge to write again. It would be nice if people do want to read it, but I`m not going to pressure anybody into it and I will resist the urge to base my enjoyment of writing on the stats. 2015 is the year of breaking some habits and forging others, so I intend to get into the habit of writing again. Even if it’s only small posts, even if they are really boring, I will write them anyway if I want to and people can read them if they want to.
Oh, and BBC if you are reading this, can I have Robin as my dance partner please?

About Laura Cooper

I am a mid-thirties first time mum of one. Formerly a secondary school teacher, serial planner and know-it-all . I have learnt that nothing about being a mum is predictable and am now a strong advocate of making it up as you go along.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

